

For Immediate Release: February 2, 2025

PRESS-RELEASE

Annual Alumni Meet of IIT (ISM) Basant 2025 Celebrated with Glory and Nostalgia

The prestigious two-day Annual Alumni Meet of IIT (ISM) Dhanbad, Basant 2025, unfolded a spectacular journey of memories, pride, and camaraderie this weekend, as alumni from across generations gathered to celebrate their shared legacy. Held since Saturday morning, the event was a grand spectacle of reunion and honor, punctuated with cultural, recreational, and academic activities.

The Alumni Meet kicked off with the warm welcome of alumni and a host of nostalgic moments, including a symbolic group photograph, a visit to the picturesque Topchanchi Lake, a magnificent Flower Show, and an array of exciting Games and Sports held at the institute's Upper and Lower Grounds. The event also featured a lively cultural program at Penman Auditorium, showcasing the artistic flair of the IIT (ISM) community, and a Fete, all underscored by the Annual General Body Meeting of the IIT (ISM) Alumni Association.

The festivities culminated in an emotionally charged ceremony at Penman Auditorium this evening, where the distinguished alumni were conferred with the prestigious **Basant Samman** by Prof. Sukumar Mishra, Director IIT (ISM) in presence of Chairman, BoG, IIT (ISM), Prof. Prem Vrat (present in virtual mode) and others including Prof. Dheeraj Kumar, Deputy Director, Deans, HoD, Faculty members and officers in recognition of their outstanding contributions in their respective fields. Three remarkable individuals were honored, including two former faculty members, who have significantly enriched the legacy of IIT (ISM).

The **Basant Samman** Awardees for 2025 included:

- Shri Gurdeep Singh, Chairman & Managing Director of NTPC, recognized for his exceptional leadership since 2016.
- **Professor Gurdeep Singh**, a 1983 Ph.D. graduate in Applied Chemistry and former Head of the Department of Environmental Science and Engineering.
- **Professor VP Sharma**, an esteemed academic with four decades of distinguished service in the Petroleum Engineering Department.

In addition, seven other notable alumni were felicitated for their extraordinary achievements. They included:

- **Professor Dilip K. Prasad**, Full Professor at UiT-The Arctic University of Norway, awarded the "Research & Academic Excellence Award."
- Shri Pankaj Satija, Distinguished Mining Engineer, honored with the "Bhaskar Bhattacharjee Memorial Award."
- Shri Tarun Sharma, Co-founder and CEO of mCaffeine, recognized with the "Young Alumnus Achiever Award."
- Shri Atul Kumar, Gold Medalist in Petroleum Engineering (1967), awarded the "Nagendra Kumar Memorial Award."
- Dr. Ragula Bhaskar, Mining Engineering 1981 graduate, who received the "Entrepreneurship Award."
- **Dr. Rajeshwar Singh**, Mining Engineering 1996 graduate and distinguished MLA from Uttar Pradesh, honored with the "Director's Award for Service to Society."
- Shri Ujjwal Tah, Director General at the Directorate General of Mines Safety, awarded for his distinguished service in the field of mining safety.



Adding to the jubilant mood, this year's event also celebrated the **Golden Jubilee** of the 1975 batch and the **Silver Jubilee** of the 2000 batch, bringing together alumni from these milestone years.

A key highlight of Basant 2025 was the launch of the **Shatabdi Samman Sankalp Champions**, a special initiative where recent alumni who have secured prestigious positions pledged to contribute one month's salary to the upcoming centenary celebrations of IIT (ISM). As part of this initiative, the **Shatabdi Alumni Life Time Alumni Card** was introduced, offering lifetime access to various facilities like the Guest House, along with exclusive concessions.

The event also resonated with deep significance as it was held in the backdrop of the upcoming **Centenary Celebrations** of IIT (ISM), Dhanbad. The remarkable contributions of alumni continue to strengthen the institute's legacy, with notable donations such as the recent contribution of **Rs. 1 Crore by Amrit Sagar Chopra**, a 1961 Mining Engineering graduate, to support the Centenary Fund.

Basant 2025 was not only a celebration of the past but also a reaffirmation of the profound bond that unites the IIT (ISM) alumni with their alma mater. The event was a resounding testament to the excellence and impact of the institute and its graduates across industries, academia, and society.

Rajni Singh Dean (Corporate Communications)